State Certification Options

Pace University programs lead to two different levels of New York State teaching certificates, the Initial Certificate and the Professional Certificate. An Initial Certificate is the minimal certificate required to teach in public schools in the State of New York. The academic requirements for the Initial Certificate are met through all Pace teacher preparation programs. To continue to teach in New York, a student must ultimately obtain a Professional Certificate.

Additional information regarding New York State Teaching Certificates including time limits and specific criteria can be obtained at For information on certificate requirements in another state, students should contact the teacher certification bureau for that state. Pace programs meet the academic requirements for certification in most other states, especially those states that are, like New York, members of the Interstate Certification Compact.

Additional teaching certificates and extensions allow the holder of a certificate to teach an additional student population, grade, or subject. Each certificate or extension requires additional coursework, field-based experiences and/or certification examination(s). Within Pace University programs, students can become eligible for the following specialty certificates and extensions:

  • Bilingual Education Extension
  • TESOL Education Extension
  • Literacy Specialist Advanced Certificate
  • Middle Level Education Extension to Grades 5-6
  • Middle Level Education Extension to Grades 7-9
  • Adolescent Special Education Advanced Certificate
  • Childhood Special Education Advanced Certificate

Please discuss additional certificates and extensions with your adviser or the Director of Student Support Services.

New York State requires that candidates for all teaching certificates successfully complete New York State Teacher Certification Examinations (NYSTCE).